Helter Skelter

Hello strangers. How’s everyone doing? Miss me? No? That’s alright. I don’t blame you. It’s been a busy summer. The boys are home from college, as evidenced by our grocery bills. I was promoted at work in the Spring, which was great. The increased responsibilities and time demands have left me with less time to write anything in any sort of coherent way though. I can hear my friends saying “that never stopped you in the past”. Very true. 

I haven’t  had time to write about seeing King Crimson in Rochester (phenomenal but cut short by venue demands) or about The Who in Canandaigua(I’m still in awe). I was hurting pretty badly that day. My disc herniation in my neck was causing me a lot of pain. I almost bagged it. I literally had to force myself to go. It was 90 minutes away on a Sunday night. I’m very glad we went.  They were a revelation. I got chills twice during the show, during Love Reign O’er Me and again during See Me Feel Me. Amazing set list. I’m glad I toughed it out. If you get the chance, go see them while you still can. 

Okay, there’s plenty more personal stuff that I could write about and maybe I will at a later date. While it’s important to have some semblance of a life and to try to enjoy ourselves, it seems irresponsible to me not to address the elephant in the room (no, that’s not a Trump is fat joke). 

There is no way to sugarcoat this. There’s no way for me to tip toe around it. I’m not going to be nice. If, after the last six months, you are still supporting Trump, you don’t deserve nice. If you see nothing wrong with this monstrosity of a man and with all of his sycophantic, toady,  yes men and apologists, then you have been successfully brain washed. 

I truly believe that the roughly 38% of the electorate who still support Trump are displaying cult-like behavior. Here’s the thing about being brain washed. You don’t realize it. You’re the proverbial frog in a pot of boiling water. There’s no talking to you, Trump supporter. You’ll literally agree with anything Trump says and does rather than admit you’re wrong. We’ve gone down a horrible path as a country. I’m  disgusted with you. It’s up to the rest of us to fix your mess.

I saw Blue Oyster Cult many times. I’ll never forget wearing my concert shirt one day when I was maybe 13 and cults were very much in the news at that point, Jim Jones and all that. My dear Aunt Molly was over the house and saw my shirt and was very concerned that I had joined a cult. No worries, Aunt Molly, it’s just a band. 

2 thoughts on “Helter Skelter

  1. There isn’t any reason to talk or try to reason with #45 supporters. Better to spend your time and effort in the RESISTANCE. Call, fax, email your representatives daily, weekly, etc. on the topics that are important to you. It’s not hard and it does make you feel like you have some control. It is worth your time and effort to do it. You won’t regret it.
    Btw, the Who did not disappoint.

    Like

Leave a Reply

