June Liner Notes

Hello, my small but faithful readership.  Miss me?  I didn’t think so. Anyway, here’s what’s on my mind, in a Larry King, non-sequitur, kinda way.

Following up on my summer concert plans, tickets are now purchased for U2 and for Roger Waters.  I’ve seen both acts before but I’m still excited for the shows.

U2 is coming to the local football stadium, almost 30 years to the day since I last saw them, on The Joshua Tree tour in 1987.  That show was at Silver Stadium in Rochester with Little Steven and Los Lobos. Bono had a broken arm for that show and at one point during the show, asked the crowd if anyone out there played guitar.  He called a guy up to the stage , made sure he knew the chords to the next song, and let him play with the band.  How cool is that?  I can’t remember which song it was but I do remember that the guy tried to sing into the microphone too and Bono jokingly told him no way.

I saw Roger Waters on his first solo tour, The Pros & Cons of Hitchhiking, at the old Buffalo Aud. The Aud was torn down in 1994, I believe, but I’m pretty sure if you go downtown today, you can still hear the echos of concerts past.  Why?  The sound in that place was awful for concerts, full of echos. Still, I recall that as being a pretty darn good show, with a large band that included Andy Fairweather-Low and Mel Collen(who I’ll get to see again next week with King Crimson).

Gun violence is back in the news this week (I told you there would be non-sequiters, hello Portland). My stance on guns in the USA has evolved from “not a fan” to “total and utter revulsion”. Whether we want to admit it or not, we have an extreme gun fetish in this country. Are there any other countries in the world where guns outnumber people? It’s a sickness, folks. We have a problem and like most problems, it won’t go away until we admit it exists. Hi, I’m Sam and I have a gun fetish. Hi Sam…You’ve heard all of the arguments before so I suppose there’s no sense in rehashing them. As I age, I have less patience for these arguments. As far as I’m concerned, If you don’t see that we have a problem, that makes you part of the problem. And in my book, that also means you have blood on your hands, indirectly speaking. You’re complicit. Tough words? Damn straight.

One other thing about the congressional shooting I’d like to say. I hope that Congressman Scalise makes a full recovery and lives a long and happy life, preferably in the private sector. His political stances are abhorrent but no one should suffer from violence, by gun or otherwise, for their political views. It’s hard not to note the irony of the situation though, in light of his previous statements such as this :

Again, I wish him well but I definitely can see the irony of the situation.

Track art


Lyrics

Big man, pig man
Ha, ha, charade you are
You well heeled big wheel
Ha, ha, charade you are
And when your hand is on your heart
You’re nearly a good laugh
Almost a joker
With your head down in the pig bin
Saying ‘Keep on digging’
Pig stain on your fat chin
What do you hope to find
Down in the pig mine?
You’re nearly a laugh
You’re nearly a laugh
But you’re really a cry

Bus stop rat bag
Ha, ha, charade you are
You fucked up old hag
Ha, ha, charade you are
You radiate cold shafts of broken glass
You’re nearly a good laugh
Almost worth a quick grin
You like the feel of steel
You’re hot stuff with a hatpin
And good fun with a hand gun
You’re nearly a laugh
You’re nearly a laugh
But you’re really a cry

Hey you, White House
Ha, ha, charade you are
You house proud town mouse
Ha, ha, charade you are
You’re trying to keep our feelings off the street
You’re nearly a real treat
All tight lips and cold feet
And do you feel abused?
You got to stem the evil tide
And keep it all on the inside
Mary you’re nearly a treat
Mary you’re nearly a treat
But you’re really a cry

Track art

One thought on “June Liner Notes

  1. Here’s a post I saw yesterday on FB. It says it all. I hope something changes but I don’t really believe it will. It may or may not have kept this particular incident from happening, but just maybe common sense regulation might be a good start?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

