Welcome to the Show

It’s concert season in Buffalo again, that 2-3 month period where the weather isn’t awful everyday. A time period where promoters cram as many outdoor shows into the calendar as humanly possible.  The music nerd in me wants to go to every show.  The version of me who looks at the budget and the other responsibilities in life says slow your roll, nerd.  ZZ Top played Artpark last night in the rain for a soft ticket show and a small piece of me died for not going.  I’ve seen them before(4-2-80 in Rochester) and just couldn’t muster it up. Here is what’s currently on my concert calendar for the summer though:

First up is the mighty King Crimson, June 30th.  This show is in Rochester and is part of the Rochester International Jazz Fest, an event that has grown enormously over the past few years. This will be my fifth time seeing Crim and second time with this lineup(sort of).  They have actually added a 4th drummer for this tour, although Rieflin is playing mostly mellotron.

http://www.rochesterjazz.com/artists?artist_id=186

Key Track – The Amazing Starless

Song I’ve never seen them play and would love to hear in person:

Fun Fact – The venue for this show is actually the room where my high school graduation took place.  I suspect this show will be much more fun than that.

Next up is The Who in Canandaigua! I’ve never seen The Who before and I’m therefore, greatly looking forward to this show.  Yes, I know it’s only half of The Who but that what’s left and c’mon, if you could only see half of The Who, this is the half you’d want to see.

https://www.cmacevents.com/

Key Track – There are so many to choose from but for me, I guess it’s Baba O’reilly.

Song I realllly want to hear – The Seeker!!!!

I asked Bobby Dylan
I asked The Beatles
I asked Timothy Leary
But he couldn’t help me either

They call me The Seeker
I’ve been searching low and high
I won’t get to get what I’m after
Till the day I die

Fun Fact – Everyone in my high school absolutely loved The Who.  Except me.  Just being a contrarian, I suppose.  I’ve grown to love em over the years though.

On to August and the Ian Anderson show at Artpark.

http://www.artpark.net/events/jethro-tull-by-ian-anderson

Some of my earliest musical memories involve Jethro Tull.  Blame my sister, who had the Living in the Past double album(now residing in my collection, thank you, Vickie). By my count, I’ve seen Tull six times over the years plus another two shows from The Martin Barre Band.  I’ve never seen Ian since he disbanded the group and even passed on going to see his last show at UB.  I consider Ian a true, rock genius and I’ve probably listened to his music more than almost anyone else’s over the years(Grateful Dead and Richard Thompson not withstanding). Still, his voice is rough.  Too many concerts and too many cigs just did it in.  It’s not like Waits or Dylan or someone who never had a great voice.  Ian had a wonderfully rich voice and he sang with an expressive English accent.  Thin and reedy are how most would describe his voice since about 1980. Oh well, it will still be fun to catch him in concert and laugh at his ribald jokes.

Key Track – I mean, it has to be Aqualung, right?

Song I really want to hear – Mother Goose!!!

As I did walk by Hampstead Fair
I came upon Mother Goose
So I turned her loose
She was screaming
And a foreign student said to me
Was it really true there elephants and lions too in Picadilly Circus?

Walked down by the bathing pond to try and catch some sun
Saw at least a hundred schoolgirls sobbing into handkerchiefs as one
I don’t believe they knew I was a schoolboy

And a bearded lady said to me
If you start your raving, and your misbehaving
You’ll be sorry
Then the chicken-fancier came to play
With his long red beard and his sister’s weird, she drives a lorry

Laughed down by the putting green
I popped ’em in their holes
Four and twenty laborers were laboring
And digging up their gold
I don’t believe they knew that I was Long John Silver

Saw Johnny Scarecrow make his rounds in his jet-black ‘mac
Which he won’t give back
Stole it from a snowman

As I did walk by Hampstead Fair
I came upon Mother Goose
So I turned her loose
But she was screaming

Walked down by the bathing pond to try and catch some sun
Must of been at least a hundred schoolgirls sobbing into handkerchiefs as one
I don’t believe they knew I was a schoolboy

 

Fun fact – when I see old friends or former co-workers after a long period of time, they always bring up my love of Tull, as if I’m the only person they’ve ever known who loves that band. 

Other shows that are coming which I don’t have tickets for currently include Tom Petty, Roger Waters, Jason Isbell and Iron & Wine, and just announced, U2 in September.  Send your concert ticket donations to thoughtsfromblo, Buffalo, NY, 8675309.

One thought on “Welcome to the Show

Leave a Reply

