A Rock n Roll Fantasy

I bought two Cd’s at the merch table when the lovely Missus and I were at the Dan Bern show last week, Adderal Holiday, which is his latest,  and Drifter, from 2012.  For a while there, I was buying his CD’s as soon as they were released but I find that now, I’m quite a few behind.  Why is that?

Glad you asked.  I don’t buy new music that often anymore.  For much of my life, I would go to record stores, shop around, and pick stuff out.  Back in high school, I worked at Bill Grays for a while(mmm, Texas Sauce!).  I worked at the location across the street from Pittsford Plaza in Rochester and conveniently, there was a great record store right next door, Fantasy Records.  I spent what some might call an unhealthy amount of time in that store.  Every week when I got my paycheck, I’d put half into savings and spend half on records.  Who says I don’t have my priorities straight?  My friend Alan L and I would spend entire Saturdays driving around from one record store to the next, trying to find out of print treasures to go along with the more recent releases. The Record Archive had a great back room, filled with out of print records.

I almost never go to record stores anymore. Hell, there are only a couple of them left in the entire city of Buffalo.  I will buy the occasional download but I find it to be wholly unsatisfying.  The sound quality is lacking in mp3’s  and I want a tangible product for my money.  Once in a while, I might buy a CD or an album online but that’s a rare occasion.  So basically, I don’t buy much new music anymore unless I’m at a show and they have them for sale there.  Are record stores a thing of the past or will they make a comeback?

There’s a guy in my block, he lives for rock
He plays records day and night
And when he feels down, he puts some rock ‘n’ roll on
And it makes him feel alright
And when he feels the world is closing in
He turns his stereo way up high
He just spends his life, living in a rock ‘n’ roll fantasy
He just spends his life, living on the edge of reality
He just spends his life, in a rock ‘n’ roll fantasy
He just spends his life, living in a rock ‘n’ roll fantasy
He just spends his life, living on the edge of reality
He just spends his life, in a rock ‘n’ roll fantasy
He just spends his life, living in a rock ‘n’ roll fantasy

 

Leave a Reply

