Songs of Freedom

In honor of Martin Luther King Day, I thought I’d list some of my favorite songs to do with the fight for racial equality.  This one’s for John Lewis.  Love that guy!

Taken from his third album, which is far and away my favorite of his, Peter Gabriel tells the story of Stephen Biko, a South African anti-apartheid activist.  It’s a chilling song.  Very powerful.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Biko

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biko_(song)

Here we have Lenny Kravitz with a very simple message about trying to catch a cab while being black.  There is a  simple but effective message in this song which has always stuck with me.

 

Here is Sam Cooke with a song for the ages.  As I mentioned in a previous post, I could listen to Cooke sing the phone book.  I’m usually not a huge fan of strings but they work here.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Change_Is_Gonna_Come

“It’s been a long time coming, but I know a change is gonna come.”

 

Next up is Bob Marley with one of the best songs ever.  Don’t even try to argue with me on this.  You’d be wrong.

Old pirates, yes, they rob I
Sold I to the merchant ships
Minutes after they took I
From the bottomless pit
But my hand was made strong
By the hand of the Almighty
We forward in this generation
Triumphantly.
Won’t you help to sing
These songs of freedom
Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds
Have no fear for atomic energy
Cause none of them can stop the time
How long shall they kill our prophets
While we stand aside and look Ooh
Some say it’s just a part of it
We’ve got to fulfill the book

Won’t you help to sing
These songs of freedom
Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Redemption songs

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our mind.
Whoa! Have no fear for atomic energy
Cause none of them-a can-a stop-a the time
How long shall they kill our prophets
While we stand aside and look
Yes, some say it’s just a part of it
We’ve got to fulfill the book
Won’t you help to sing
These songs of freedom
Cause all I ever had
Redemption songs
All I ever had
Redemption songs
These songs of freedom
Songs of freedom

 

 

Leave a Reply

