Don’t Know Much About…

Don’t know much about history
Don’t know much biology
Don’t know much about a science book,
Don’t know much about the french I took.
But I do know that I love you,
And I know that if you love me, too,
What a wonderful world this would be.
Don’t know much about geography,
Don’t know much trigonometry.
Don’t know much about algebra,
Don’t know what a slide rule is for.
But I do know that one and one is two,
And if this one could be with you,
What a wonderful world this would be.
Now, I don’t claim to be an “A” student,
But I’m tryin’ to be.
For maybe by being an “A” student, baby,
I can win your love for me.
Don’t know much about history,
Don’t know much biology.
Don’t know much about a science book,
Don’t know much about the french I took.
But I do know that I love you,
And I know that if you love me, too,
What a wonderful world this would be.
History
Biology
Science book
French I took.
But I do know that I love you,
And I know that if you love me, too,
What a wonderful world this would be.
Ever hear someone say they they like a singer’s voice so much that they could listen to that person sing the phone book?  If my kids ever read this, they’ll probably wonder what the heck a phone book is.  Anyway, for me, Sam Cooke fits into that “phone book” category.  What a voice!
I was thinking about this great song the other day while reviewing my 401K statements.  Why is that, you may be wondering?  Well, I know next to nothing about economics.  I took both Macro and Micro economics classes at UB and somehow passed both of them but retained absolutely none of that information.  It’s just beyond me.  It bores me.  It confuses me. It puts me to sleep.  What am I going on about now?
Well, it seems to me that our economy is in much better shape now than it was eight years ago when President Obama took office.  There are, of course, varying opinions on that all over the internet.  Trying to find a non-partisan, factual website on this issue is dicey.  Here’s what factcheck.org. who I trust to give straight ahead, factual information, has to say:
Here’s my personal economic position, comparing today with eight years ago.  My wage is relatively stagnant.  Health insurance is, surprise surprise, through the roof.  But, my 401K has literally doubled in the last eight years.  So, in my admittedly very uneducated economic opinion, things are much better but we still have a long way to go.  Corporate profits are way up and the stock market is sky high but the average person is running in water. Thoughts?
3 thoughts on “Don’t Know Much About…

  1. After 8 month of unemployment, I would have to say it sucks, of course according to our all knowing government, because I can not draw unemployment benefits I am not consider unemployed any more. Yippee!!! Things are looking up.

    Like

  2. All sarcasm aside, I have an interview with FHWA on Wed. Doing some as needed consulting for this firm in VA. They do a lot of DOD work. Consulting on a bridge in Cambodia for them that some Seabees have to use to access a site they are building a school for some village I will not begin to try and spell. We will have some other things in the works, either waiting to see if they get the work or if I am going to be the guy they want to hire. I know a number of professional people with a good number of year of experience that are out of work or have been out of work with in the past 5 or so years for long stretches at a time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

