Rock n Roll Fantasy

Not really.  More like a football fantasy.  Or, as the lovely Missus likes to call it, fake football.  She’s not into sports to begin with but really has a hard time understanding the obsession that the boys and I have for fantasy football.  She gets especially flummoxed when we watch shows about “fake football”.  What can I say?  We are obsessed.  In our defense, it’s no stupider than watching any of those insipid “housewives of” shows.

Anyway, the NFL has become so much less interesting to me than it used to be.  I outlined why in a previous post.

https://thoughtsfromtheblo.wordpress.com/2016/10/30/the-league/comment-page-1/

Given the current state of the league and the fact that the Buffalo Bills are now on year 17 of their playoff drought, fantasy football is the main reason I’m even interested in football at all.  We’ve had a family league for the past ten years or so with my three boys, my brother in-law, nephews, and cousins.  It’s really a lot of fun but more importantly, it gives us a reason to stay in touch regularly.

This year, I lost my top two receivers to injury very early on.  Keenan Allen went down in the first game of the year and then I lost Eric Decker a few games later.  Luckily, I was able to pick up a rookie from New Orleans, Michael Thomas,  and then later, Gabriel from Atlanta, and they both have helped me get by.  The strength of my team is at the running back position, with LeSean McCoy, Ezekial Elliott, Spencer Ware, and Frank Gore.  I also have Drew Brees at QB and Travis Kelce at TE.  My team, The Balrogs(just to make it that much nerdier), went 10-4 in the regular season, which was good for 2nd place overall and a trip to the playoffs.  I faced my cousins in the semi-final match up last weekend and, after much pacing and worry, ended up on top.  So, we’re headed to the finals where I’ll be facing number 2 son and his team, Kanye2020.  Do you think things might be just a little bit tense in our house this week?  Bring it on, Kanye!

Dear Mr. Fantasy play us a tune
Something to make us all happy
Do anything, take us out of this gloom
Sing a song, play guitar, make it snappy

You are the one who can make us all laugh
But doing that you break out in tears
Please don’t be sad if it was a straight mind you had
We wouldn’t have known you all these years

Dear Mr. Fantasy play us a tune
Something to make us all happy
Do anything, take us out of this gloom
Sing a song, play guitar, make it snappy
Yeah, yeah, yeah

Dear Mr. Fantasy play us a tune
Something to make us all happy
Do anything, take us out of this gloom
Sing a song, play guitar, make it snappy

You are the one who can make us all laugh
But doing that you break out in tears
Please don’t be sad if it was a straight mind you had
We wouldn’t have known you all these years, hee think about it

One thought on “Rock n Roll Fantasy

  1. I hear yeah. I am in the finals of my league as well. Was not going to be in any this year after a 15 year run with being laid off and all. But the one league begged and now they are paying for it. So we will see if I can win it all. It is fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

