World Turning

Okay, I was going to go with Mother Russia, by Renaissance, but that seems a little too “on the nose” for my blog.  I did use it on Facebook though. What am I going on about?  This:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/national-security/obama-orders-review-of-russian-hacking-during-presidential-campaign/2016/12/09/31d6b300-be2a-11e6-94ac-3d324840106c_story.html?utm_term=.b186924b4ab8

Call it hacking, don’t call it hacking.  It doesn’t matter.  What matters is that Russia successfully interfered with our “democratic” election and that they preferred one candidate over the other.  For those keeping score at home, here’s a partial list of who wanted Trump to win: Russia, wikileaks, the KKK, James Comey and many at the FBI.  Strange bedfellows, huh?

So, according to this article, President Obama went to Congressional leaders with whatever proof they had and wanted to release this information in a bipartisan way prior to the election.  Of course, the venal republican fucks in Congress wanted no part of it.  Winning was more important to them than anything else.  They are so self serving that they’re willing to sacrifice our national security for their own power(quoting Evan McMullin there).  I wonder how Trump voters would feel is this happened in the other direction? If Russia had interfered on behalf of Clinton and helped her win?

And in case anyone thinks I’m a strict partisan and will defend my guy at all costs, let me say this.  As much as I absolutely love President Obama, I place a fair share of blame for this at his feet.  David Frum called this the cyber equivalent of Pearl Harbor.  Why weren’t we more prepared for this type of attack?  And for fuck’s sake, when it was clear that the republicans weren’t going to put country ahead of party(I’m shocked, shocked I tell you!), why be afraid to release this information without them prior to the election?  He was afraid of coming across as too partisan?  Seriously?  That’s incredibly weak.  I’m so disappointed in him over this.  I expect nothing from congressional republicans and therefore, am never disappointed in them.   Who really cares if you appear too partisan, at this point?  He should have erred on the side of full disclosure to the public so we could take it into account prior to voting.  Especially after his FBI Director blew up the election.

Here’s another thing to consider.  The intelligence community said that Russia hacked into the RNC server too but did not release anything, which also implies that they wanted Trump to win.

What does Trump say about all of this?  He attacked our own intelligence services and defended Russia by saying, “these are the same people who thought Saddam Hussein had WMD’s”.  That’s a pretty interesting line.  First off, I don’t think it’s wise for an incoming president to be so critical of the intelligence agencies that he’s going to need and rely on starting next month(assuming he ever actually sits in on intelligence briefings).  Secondly, is that even true?  Are they all of the same people?  I don’t believe that to be true.

Where is the political outrage right now?  Harry Reid is speaking out and some Democrats as well.  So far, the only Republican at all to speak out is Lindsay Graham.  A foreign country successfully interfered with our presidential election and almost no one seems to care.  What in the world is happening to us?

There are so many other angles to discuss but I’ll finish with just one more.  If Russia has, and it seems virtually certain that they do, data on Trump and his “messy” finances, a nightmare blackmail scenario now exists.  Let that sink in for a minute.  Has there ever been a transition period filled with so much scandal, ugliness and international intrigue before?  Has there ever been such a strong question before about the legitimacy of an  incoming president?  World Turning, indeed.

Everybody’s trying to say I’m wrong
I just wanna be back where I belong

World turning
I gotta get my feet back on the ground
World turning
Everybody’s got me down

Maybe I’m wrong but who’s to say what’s right
I need somebody to help me through the night

World turning
I gotta get my feet back on the ground
World turning
Everybody’s got me down

Maybe I’m wrong but who’s to say what’s right
I need somebody to help me through the night

World turning
I gotta get my feet back on the ground
World turning
Everybody’s got me down

Turnin’, everybody’s got me down
World turning
Everybody’s got me down

Let me roll

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

