Shine a Light

Saw you stretched out in Room Ten O Nine
With a smile on your face and a tear right in your eye.
Oh, couldn’t see to get a line on you, my sweet honey love.
Berber jewelry jangling down the street,
Making bloodshot eyes at every woman that you meet.
Could not seem to get a high on you, my sweet honey love.
May the good Lord shine a light on you,
Make every song (you sing) your favorite tune.
May the good Lord shine a light on you,
Warm like the evening sun.
When you’re drunk in the alley, baby, with your clothes all torn
And your late night friends leave you in the cold gray dawn.
Just seemed too many flies on you, I just can’t brush them off.
Angels beating all their wings in time,
With smiles on their faces and a gleam right in their eyes.
Whoa, thought I heard one sigh for you,
Come on up, come on up, now, come on up now.
May the good Lord shine a light on you,
Make every song you sing your favorite tune.
May the good Lord shine a light on you,
Warm like the evening sun.
May the good Lord shine a light on you,
Make every song you sing your favorite tune.
May the good Lord shine a light on you,
Warm like the evening sun.
Man, those boys sure can write a song, huh?  Taking a break from politics for a minute to discuss a recent, life-changing event that happened to me.
It was the Saturday after Thanksgiving and my sister and brother in-law always hold a get together that night.  We celebrate my birthday and my niece’s.  This year being my 5oth birthday, I received some rather interesting gifts.  My cousins gave me a “Dump Trump” roll of toilet paper, along with what they most likely assumed was another gag gift, the toilet bowl night light.
Let me tell you, this is no gag gift.  I love this thing!  It has a motion detector and only lights up when you walk in.  And, it changes colors all on its own!  There are nine color settings!  If I get up in the middle of the night, I don’t have to turn the bathroom light on anymore.  Plus, who doesn’t love a colored bowl!  If you don’t have one of these yet, I highly recommend it.  It’s a life-changer!
Leave a Reply

