Just About a Moonlight Mile

Chekov_ceti_eel.jpg

Shields up! We have another ear worm! Red alert, red alert.

Two blog post in one day?  That’s crazy talk!  However, I feel like I have to share my latest ear worm.  Ear worms for me are usually songs that are new to me.  I’ve been known to drive the people around me absolutely bonkers when I get a song in my head and just want to keep playing it on repeat.  This is a weird one for me because I’ve known the song for most of my life.  The thing is, there are so many stellar Stones songs that it’s easy to lose a few in the mix.  To just not pay that close of attention to a few.

This is a road song.  A really great one.  I never really paid attention to the lyrics before.  The music corresponds perfectly to the road weariness and the longing to be home that is talked about in the lyric.  I wrote about some of my favorite road songs a while back but completely missed this one.

I’m a Dead head from way back. I’ve been a Tull fanatic for my whole life.   I’ve loved Zeppelin since I was little and always will.  I could rattle off ten other bands that I love to death. But I’ll tell you, The Stones have risen to the top of the heap for me in recent years.  Their lyrics are tremendous.  Their music is deceptively awesome.  More than all that though, it’s the shear volume of their awesome body of work.

When the wind blows and the rain feels cold
With a head full of snow
With a head full of snow
In the window there’s a face you know
Don’t the nights pass slow
Don’t the nights pass slow
The sound of strangers sending nothing to my mind
Just another mad mad day on the road
I am just living to be lying by your side
But I’m just about a moonlight mile on down the road
Made a rag pile of my shiny clothes
Gonna warm my bones
Gonna warm my bones
I got silence on my radio
Let the air waves flow
Let the air waves flow
Oh I’m sleeping under strange strange skies
Just another mad mad day on the road
My dreams is fading down the railway line
I’m just about a moonlight mile down the road
I’m hiding sister and I’m dreaming
I’m riding down your moonlight mile
I’m hiding baby and I’m dreaming
I’m riding down your moonlight mile
I’m riding down you moonlight mile
Let it go now, come on up babe
Yeah, let it go now
Yeah, flow now baby
Yeah move on now yeah
Yeah, I’m coming home
‘Cause, I’m just about a moonlight mile on down the road
Down the road, down the road
Leave a Reply

