It’s a Funny Thing

The lovely Missus and I watched the final debate last night. It went about as expected for most of the 90 minutes.  A zinger here, a retort there, with some sniffles in-between. He should really do something about that nasty coke habit.   I doubt many minds were changed on either side, although calling Hillary a “nasty woman” probably didn’t help Donny boy with the last few undecided women out there.

The big headline is of course, his refusal to say that he would accept the election results if he loses. He’s getting nailed from all sides on that, and deservedly so. If Hillary is only right about one thing, it’s that he does not have the temperament to lead us, and he showed that once again.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/trump-refuses-to-accept-election-reactions_us_58082b39e4b0180a36e8e20f

Okay, I got that out of the way.  I had a thought last night(it happens occasionally) while watching and also following along on Twitter.  Twitter was made for national events, wasn’t it?  Anyway, I follow a guy named John Fugelsang. He’s a political comedian and actor and one tweet he posted last night literally made me laugh out loud.  Warning, it’s of an “adult nature”. Here it is:

1st time Trump has ever said “you’re a nasty woman” to someone he wasn’t paying.

Okay, I know that’s crude but what can I say, that’s my kind of humor.  Here’s the “thought” that I had last night, and I’m sure I’m far from the first to think about it.  Why are there so many people making a living telling jokes on the political left and almost none that I know of on the political right?

Think about the long list of comedians, satirists,  and media personalities: Bill Maher, Jon Stewart, Sam Bee, Larry Wilmore, Trevor Noah, John Oliver, Lewis Black, Colbert, Myers, etc.  It’s a very long list if you include all of the stand up comics who tackle politics too.  Almost without exception, their politics are left leaning.  Who does the right have, Dennis Miller?

So, why is that?  Is it because artsy, creative people tend to be more progressive and conversely, conservative people aren’t going into the entertainment field?  Or is that an unfair generalization? Is it because it’s easier to make fun of Republican political positions?  Here’s a pretty good article on the topic.

http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2015/02/why-theres-no-conservative-jon-stewart/385480/

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think.

In the meantime, here is probably my favorite all-time comedian, and one of the few I’ve ever seen in person.

Leave a Reply

