Reservations

I’ve been meaning to write about the Brian Wilson show the other night but haven’t had the time.  It was a great show and deserves a full write up.  In the meantime, here’s a short entry about reservations.  Standing at the counter at Monro Muffler, I felt like I was in a Seinfeld episode yesterday.

I had called them first thing in the morning.  I told them that I’ll be out of work at 4:30 and can get there by 4:45, can you get me in for an oil change and tire rotation?  Sure!  No problem!  C’mon in!

I get there at 4:40 and say I’m here for an oil change.  Sorry, we’re all booked up.  But I called this morning, I said.  What’s your name?  Oh yes, I have you here for 5:30.  5:30?  I told you I’d be here at 4:45 and you said okay!  I’m sorry, sir, I have no one to work on your car until 5:30.

I walked out in disgust.  To paraphrase Jerry Seinfeld, “what’s the point of taking a reservation if you aren’t going to keep the reservation”?

Leave a Reply

