Magic

Are you going to watch the big debate tonight?  The lovely Missus and I will be watching but, I have to tell you, I’m not looking forward to it.  At this point, I can barely stand watching the news.  I’m one of those people that always watches the Sunday morning news shows, cable news most nights, etc.  Yesterday, I watched NFL pregame shows all morning.  I just don’t know how much more of this crap I can stand.  I’m completely done with this election.  If I never heard Donny boy’s name or voice again, I’d be a very happy camper indeed.  Springsteen nailed it.  He’s an embarrassment to our country.

So, now that I got that off of my chest, yesterday was National One Hit Wonder Day.  What a great world we live in, that can devote a whole day to these gems.  So in honor of this very special day, and because I’m hoping that Hillary brings the magic tonight, here’s one of my favorites, from a band called Pilot.  A top five hit for this Scottish band in the summer of ’75, it’s pure, power pop bliss.  The only piece of trivia I know about this song is that it was produced by the great Alan Parsons.  I’m pretty sure that I have this 45 in my basement.

I love a sunny day
Dream of far away
Dreaming on my pillow in the morning
Never been awake
Never seen a day break
Leaning on my pillow in the morning light
Oh, ho, ho, it’s magic, you know
Never believe it’s not so
It’s magic, you know
Never believe it’s not so

 

Leave a Reply

