Latest Ear Worms

Well folks, it’s been a full year of blogging. 258 posts later, we’re still chugging along.  I’d like to take this time to thank my loyal readers, all three of you :). I’d especially like to thank those of you who have taken the time to post comments.  I always look forward to reading the comments here on the blog.  I’m not sure if this is going to be a permanent fixture in my life or if I’ll let it fade away at some point but for now, let’s keep the train moving forward.  If Donny boy wins the election, all bets are off though and you’ll find me hiding under the covers.

A recurring item here on thoughtsfromtheblo are ear worms.  From time to time, I like to pull out the photo of Mr. Chekov and share my latest musical obsessions with you.  I’ve been known to get obsessed with bands and artists over the years. Every so often, I’ll get crazily obsessed with a song. This can be hell for the people around me because the song will always be in my head. I’ll be humming it or singing it constantly if I’m not listening to it.  Maybe throw in the odd air guitar lick if no one is watching.  Many of the major ear worms that I’ve had over the years seem to have involved Richard Thompson. When ’52 Vincent first came out, I just couldn’t get enough of it.  I had to play it over and over again.  I clearly remember being in the Old Pink for happy hour when my friend Greg gave me the Rumor & Sigh CD for a birthday present. If it was possible to wear a CD out, that would have been the one. Compact discs made my ear worm obsessions so much easier to deal with.  I would just keep a song on repeat until I got my fill. Much easier than vinyl or tape.  Past ear worms, in addition to ’52 Vincent are Beeswing, Meet on the Ledge, Who Knows Where the Time Goes, Inside by Tull, Resurrection Fern by Iron & Wine, Forever Autumn by Justin Hayward, Starless by Crim and fictional god knows how many others.  Which brings me to my two latest ear worms.

I’m still in complete and total awe of the Martin Barre show last week.  I bought their new CD, Back To Steel, at the show(signed by the band!) and have been listening to it all week. It’s really all over the map, musically.  There are hard rocking tunes, such as the title track.  There are folky, Elizabethan type tunes that veer into Blackmore’s Night territory(minus the costumes), there’s a really great cover of Smokestack Lightening, and there are my two ear worms.

The first is a cover of Elenour Rigby.  I have to say, this is probably one of my least favorite Beatles tunes.  I can’t tell you why.  It’s just so played out.  But Barre and his band put a whole new spin on this tune.  They rearranged it to be, I don’t know what, a heavy metal blues tune.  Imagine Blue Cheer playing the Beatles.  Maybe not quite that loudly.  It’s more than the volume though.  The new arrangement puts the emphasis on completely different syllables.  Check out this live version.  It’s a bit different from their CD version.

The second ear worm is the one that just completely blows me away.  It’s a great re-imagining of the wonderful Tull tune, Skating Away on the Thin Ice of a New Day.  As with Rigby, it keeps the basic melody but changes up the rhythms and puts the emphasis on different syllables.  After singing it the original way in my head and in my car for the last forty years, I’m amazed by how much I love this version.  Here’s a cell phone video of it but the audio is dodgy.  See what I mean about Dan Crisp’s facial expressions and gestures?  I’ve quickly become a big fan of his.

Leave a Reply

