Spirit of the Radio

I spend a fair amount of time listening to the radio.  I always have.  I had a clock radio next to my bed as a child and would often stay up late into the night, listening to the pop music of the day on the AM dial(95BBF in Rochester). I quickly became accustomed to falling asleep to music and spent just about every night of my life doing so.  As a kid, I always felt like Rochester was this out of the way, backwater little town and that radio, along with live sports on television, were my way of connecting to the rest of the world. There was obviously no cable television or internet back in those dark ages.  Radio was my lifeline to the outside world, as I perceived it.

The first wife was not a music lover  and certainly didn’t want to fall asleep to music every night. The lovely Missus and I started shacking up together in 2009 and, although she is a music lover, she’s not into falling asleep to music either.  We usually have the television on overnight in our bedroom.

I listen to the radio while I’m driving back and forth to work, over an hour per day, and I listen to the radio over the internet at work. Commercial radio is a barren wasteland in Buffalo if you’re interested in discovering new music.  I had satellite radio for the six years that I had my last car and it was glorious! After the November storm two years ago, I decided that I needed 4WD and bought a used SUV that did not come with satellite radio.  Maybe I’ll get around to putting it in the truck at some point.  I really should.

This is a long way of getting to what’s really a small observation about radio.  Did you know that people still request songs from deejays?  Not just by calling but through websites and radio station Facebook pages.  Are they unaware that youtube exists and that you can listen to 90% of the songs out there in mere seconds?  If the internet had existed when I was a kid, I’m not sure I would have ever left the house.  You mean I can listen to any song I want, any time I want?  I just have to learn how to type? No more calling the radio station for me(I always requested an Elton John song when I called the radio station).

All this machinery
Making modern music
Can still be open-hearted
Not so coldly charted
It’s really just a question
Of your honesty, yeah your honesty
One likes to believe
In the freedom of music
But glittering prizes
And endless compromises
Shatter the illusion
Of integrity, yeah
3 thoughts on “Spirit of the Radio

  1. Figure out what subsidizes commercial radio and when that goes away so will commercial radio. Assuming that it’s commercials and the music industry. I don’t have satellite radio or listen over my phone (unless in wifi range) because I’m too cheap to pay for additional data or subscription radio. Once the cost of those meets my threshold I’d jump. As it is, I rarely listen to commercial radio in my car now except for NPR or, when I want to torture myself, A.M. sports or news.

    Like

Leave a Reply

