Twist & Shout

Well folks, I took a week off from blogging about politics and it felt great but, like all good things, it must come to an end. There will be other topics coming again in the next week or so, as The Lowest of the Low show is this Thursday and we are going to see the Tragically Hip farewell tour next week in Hamilton.  For now though, you’re stuck with my “bleeding heart, progressive political opinions.”  Lucky you! This is what’s on my mind today:

http://www.cnn.com/2016/08/08/politics/republican-national-security-letter-donald-trump-election-2016/

I must admit that I read this with mixed emotions.  First of all, when they write this in the letter, my initial reaction is yeah, no shit, what took you so long?

“We are convinced that in the Oval Office, he would be the most reckless President in American history.”

I know I’ve been harping on this for months but the guy is dangerously unqualified.  My mixed emotions come from the people who are saying it here though.  It’s got me twisted in knots and wanting to shout back at them.  These are the same nitwits who argued for us to invade Iraq.  They don’t exactly have a great track record of being right.  Tom Ridge in particular, I will never forgive.  Let’s pull out this old chestnut from the W years.

http://www.nbcnews.com/id/32501273/ns/us_news-security/t/ridge-says-he-was-pressured-raise-terror-alert/

He was pushed by the Bush administration to raise the terror level just before the 2004 election.  He felt “slightly uncomfortable” about it but not enough to do anything about it at the time.  In other words, he put party ahead of country.  Maybe this is his way of making up for past mistakes?

I don’t know what to make of this. I’m just going to file it away under the heading of “even a blind squirrel can find a nut once in awhile” and “even a broken clock is right twice a day”.

Of much greater import to me is that Senator Susan Collins stepped up to the plate last night and hit it out of the park(still have baseball on my mind)!

https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/gop-senator-why-i-cannot-support-trump/2016/08/08/821095be-5d7e-11e6-9d2f-b1a3564181a1_story.html?wpisrc=al_alert-politics

Here’s the key paragraph:

I am also deeply concerned that Mr. Trump’s lack of self-restraint and his barrage of ill-informed comments would make an already perilous world even more so. It is reckless for a presidential candidate to publicly raise doubts about honoring treaty commitments with our allies. Mr. Trump’s tendency to lash out when challenged further escalates the possibility of disputes spinning dangerously out of control.

In all sincerity, congratulations and kudos to Senator Collins for doing the right thing here.  She put her country ahead of her political party.  I’ve been harping about this for a long time, wanting republicans currently in office to disavow Donnie Darko. I understand it’s a hard thing for them to do. I also understand the general hatred(as ridiculous as I think it is) many have for Hillary Clinton.  It’s in times like these though, where true leadership and political courage are needed.  Senator Collins has shown those qualities.  I sincerely hope that others in her party follow her example.

Damn, John could belt em out.  What a voice!

Leave a Reply

