Darkness Falls

One of my favorite TV shows from the 90’s was The X-Files. It’s hard to remember all of the episodes at this point but there are a few that have always stuck with me, including an episode from the first season called Darkness Falls.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darkness_Falls_(The_X-Files)

In this episode, Mulder and Scully travel to Washington State to investigate the disappearance of loggers working in an old growth forest.  They discover that the loggers illegally cut down some extremely old trees and unwittingly set free an old and very deadly type of swarming insect that was trapped in the tree rings. That’s a great premise for a science fiction show, isn’t it?

Here we are twenty-two years later and look what I just found.

https://psmag.com/for-climate-scientists-the-siberian-anthrax-outbreak-is-a-sign-of-whats-to-come-5b73e88cdf12#.rngblrkii

We’ve been hearing for years about the dangers related to climate change, such as rising seas and changing weather patterns.  Add another potential danger to the very real threat of climate change.  The arctic permafrost is warming.  It’s thawing out and has somehow unleashed this strain of anthrax in Siberia.

This is yet one more reason not to vote for a candidate(Donnie Darko) that thinks climate change is a hoax, not to mention the many republicans in elected office who feel the same way.  Wake up, idiot politicians, before it’s too late. Here’s a key paragraph:

Scientists have been warning for years that melting permafrost might release ancient pathogens, frozen for millennia or longer in northern soils. Over the last decade or so, bacteria have been discovered alive in Alaskan permafrost at temperatures as low as minus-40 degrees Celsius, and in permafrost layers as old as three million years in Siberia. Although the vast majority of known bacteria are harmless, we don’t yet know what’s buried up there, or how dangerous it might be to humans.

On that cheery note…

I’m adding in the lyrics to this song because I think they’re amazing.  Originally by The Youngbloods but I love this version the best.

Darkness darkness, be my pillow
Take my head and let me sleep
In the coolness of your shadow
In the silence of your dream

Darkness darkness, hide my yearning
For the things that cannot be
Keep my mind from constant turning
Towards the things I cannot see now
Towards the things I cannot see now
The things I cannot see now

Darkness darkness, long and lonesome
Is the day brings me here
I have found the edge of sadness
I have known the depths of fear

Darkness darkness, be my blanket
Cover my with the endless night
Take away away the pain of knowing
Fill the emptiness of right now
The emptiness of right now
Fill the emptiness of right now

Darkness darkness, be my pillow
Take my head and let me sleep
In the coolness of my shadow
In the silence of my dream

Darkness darkness, be my blanket
Cover my with the endless night
Take away away the pain of knowing
Fill the emptiness of right now
In the emptiness of right now
In the emptiness of right now

 

 

Leave a Reply

