And You and I

There are certain bands and artists that have been with me all of my life; that I can’t remember a time where I was not aware of their music.  YES is one of those bands and tonight, I’m going to see them for the first time in thirty years and the fourth time overall.  Or rather, we’re going to see Steve Howe and four other guys with varying connections to YES over the years.

Squire sadly left us last year.  Anderson and Wakeman are touring together with Rabin.  So this band has a drummer filling in for White, who is out with an injury, along with Downes, Sherwood, and the singer, Davison.

Regardless of the lineup, I expect that they’ll sound pretty good.  This band always prided themselves on their high performance level.  According to their website, they are playing the entire Drama album(yay!) and two sides of Tales From Topographic Oceans(hmmm), along with some greatest hits.

Home

I still listen to Drama regularly.  I love its sound and imagery.  Drama is  also the first YES tour I ever saw(12th row floor 9-16-80 at the Rochester War Memorial, in the round), so I have a special affinity for the album.

I haven’t listened to Tales in over thirty years.  I don’t remember caring much for it but tastes change so who knows?  I may listen to it this afternoon.

The lovely Missus is coming and I’m trying to determine if I can afford the amount of wine it will take for her to enjoy this show.  I may have to take out a second mortgage this afternoon!  She knows Owner of a Lonely Heart and seems vaguely familiar with Roundabout.  Better start pouring the wine now…

And you and I climb over the sea to the valley
And you and I reached out for reasons to call

 

Leave a Reply

