It’s a Struggle

There’s something that’s been on my mind for the past couple months and I’ve been struggling with a way to say it that won’t alienate or offend people.  I’ve typed this post twice and then deleted what I wrote.  I’ve come to the conclusion that there just isn’t any delicate way to put it.  So screw it, I’m just going to put it out there.  That’s what this blog is for anyway, right? Here it is. It’s directed at the people that I know personally.

After everything you’ve read, seen, and heard about Donald Trump, if you are still planning to vote for him, please do not tell me.  Why, you may ask?  Shouldn’t we be open and honest and be able to accept each other’s views?  Under normal circumstances, absolutely.  I have friends and relatives who voted for Bush, Mccain, Romney, etc.  No problemo.  I may have disagreed with them but so what? They are all decent people, with the good of our country foremost in their minds.

This is different.  This guy has no business being our president.  He’s a danger to the world. If you can’t see that or just flat out disagree, that’s certainly your right.  Don’t tell me.  I’m well aware of how this will sound and that some people may think I’m a condescending jag off(thank you Mark Cuban, for teaching me that fun phrase) for saying this, but I will genuinely think less of you for supporting Trump.

http://crooksandliars.com/2016/07/mark-cuban-there-any-bigger-jagoff-world

Every time I see you, at least for the foreseeable future, the first thing that will pop into my head is how you voted for the Dark Lord.  Right or wrong, I’m just being honest about it.  The fact that 35-40%, at minimum, currently say they will vote for the man is disheartening.  I get that there’s a culture war and he’s tapping into it but there just isn’t any excuse in my mind to give him your vote.  Not into Hillary?  Vote for Johnson, Stein, or the write in candidate of your choice.  Just don’t vote for the bad guy.  Or if you do, please don’t tell me.  I like and love my friends and relatives.  I don’t want to think less of you.

5 thoughts on “It’s a Struggle

  1. For the last 3 months you were afraid of Trump.. not you’re angry.. for the next 3 months you will have to drive to work every day watching more and more signs for Trump on lawns just getting madder and madder. Don’t be so afraid… Fear leads to anger.. anger leads to hate.. hate leads to suffering. Come over to our side – #feelthejohnson

    Like

Leave a Reply

