Ramble On

What can you even say about that speech last night?  It was so boring.  Donny Boy used fear like a weapon and he apparently was somewhat effective because early polling showed that people liked the speech.  I don’t get it.  I really don’t.  If I wanted to be yelled at for an hour, I would have stayed with my ex-wife(ba dum dum).  Just a joke if she ever reads this.  She’s not a yeller.

In times like these, I miss Jon Stewart tremendously.  His ability to point out the absurdity and hypocrisy in politics and the media in a humorous way is unparalleled.   Here he is, dropping in on Colbert last night. It’s long but even if you start half way in, you’ll get to the good stuff.

 

I especially liked the part where he pointed out that many of the same people who are chanting about blue lives matter are the ones that voted against the 9/11 first responders re-authorization.  Stewart has fought hard for these people and puts his time and effort into trying to help them.  I was watching ESPN a couple weeks ago and was riveted by this report.

http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=16732104

I also appreciated what he said in the Late Show clip about patriotism.  Here is the transcript for my favorite part:

This country isn’t yours. You don’t own it. It never was. There is no real America. You don’t own it. You don’t own patriotism. You don’t own Christianity. You sure as hell don’t own respect for the bravery and sacrifice of military, police and firefighters.

Trust me, I saw a lot of people on the convention floor in Cleveland with their “blue lives matter” rhetoric, who either remained silent or actively fought against the 9/11 first responders’ bill reauthorization. I see you and I see http://cut%20for%20obscenity.

Is the world a crazier, more dangerous place than it used to be, back when America was great(whenever that was)?  Or is it just that we can see all of the crazy, dangerous things that happen within seconds on Twitter?  Trump tried to scare us by cherry picking crime stats but in reality, violent crime is way down since 1991.  Facts should matter.

http://www.disastercenter.com/crime/uscrime.htm

Is the Middle East violent, deadly, and often times crazy?  Uh, yeah.  When hasn’t it been?  Are we going to be scared into voting for this guy for president, just because he has “great kids” and they can all read speeches off of teleprompters?  Are we back to, “who would you rather have a beer with?” to decide who will lead us? Didn’t we learn anything from that giant mistake?

Here’s an important message for Hillary.  Do not pick the boring, safe, white guy to be your VP.  You better pick someone to energize the progressive left and who will get out the vote for you.  You “played it safe” with your Iraq Vote, Hil, and it cost you the presidency in 2008.  Learn from your mistakes so we don’t all have to pay the price.

That’s enough of my rambling for now.  I’m interested to hear what you thought of the speech.  Maybe leave me a comment or two?

Leaves are falling all around, It’s time I was on my way.
Thanks to you, I’m much obliged for such a pleasant stay.
But now it’s time for me to go. The autumn moon lights my way.
For now I smell the rain, and with it pain, and it’s headed my way.
Sometimes I grow so tired, but I know I’ve got one thing I got to do…

Ramble On, And now’s the time, the time is now, to sing my song.

Zeppelin singing about Tolkien? That’s pure heaven for this non-believer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

