W

Well, I never thought I’d say this but great job, President Bush(W).  It’s probably a good thing that I did not have this blog during his presidency.  My early opposition to the Iraq War probably would have landed me on some “secret list”.  President Bush has stayed out of the limelight since leaving office(that happens when your popularity is so low) and has definitely stayed out of politics, other than a speech or two to try to help his brother.

Did you see his speech yesterday in Dallas?  It was pretty darn good!

http://www.usnews.com/news/articles/2016-07-12/transcript-george-w-bushs-remarks-at-dallas-memorial-service

I really can’t believe I’m doing this but I’m going to post a quote by Bush.

Too often, we judge other groups by their worst examples, while judging ourselves by our best intentions. And this is …

And this has strained our bonds of understanding and common purpose. But Americans, I think, have a great advantage. To renew our unity, we only need to remember our values.

We have never been held together by blood or background. We are bound by things of the spirit, by shared commitments to common ideals.

At our best, we practice empathy, imagining ourselves in the lives and circumstances of others. This is the bridge across our nation’s deepest divisions.

I love that!  Showing up with President Obama was an example of the unity that seems so much a thing of the past now.  The whole concept of bipartisanship seems like a quaint idea from the past, like the family sitting around to listen to a radio show on a Sunday night.  Will we ever get back to true bipartisanship?  It seems unlikely to me unless we fix the gerrymandering problem in Congress and also give serious thought to congressional term limits.

If you haven’t seen the speech President Obama gave yesterday, I recommend that you watch that too.  It was the best speech I’ve ever heard on the topic of racism.

Read President Obama’s Speech From the Dallas Memorial Service

Now, here’s a fun song about our 11th President.

Leave a Reply

