What’s Going On?

Hello there.  Welcome back!  I took a few days off from blogging for the holiday weekend.  I’m rested up and ready to go. Actually, I’m fired up.  I’m ticked off.  I’m pretty sure that cartoon steam was coming out of my ears over the weekend.

As passionate as I can be about politics at times, I think it’s fairly important to try and keep an even keel.  I have to admit that I failed miserably over the weekend as this story unfolded:

http://www.cnn.com/2016/07/04/politics/donald-trump-star-of-david-tweet-explained/

I looked at the meme and thought, hmmm, a Jewish star over a stack of hundred dollar bills to show how corrupt Hillary is.  That’s clearly a dog whistle.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dog-whistle_politics

This particular dog whistle would only be heard by white supremacist shitheads and by Jewish people that it was meant to offend.  What’s next from the Trump campaign, a meme with black people and fried chicken?

But wait, there’s more.  It turns out that the meme originated on an “alt-right”, white supremacist web site.

http://littlegreenfootballs.com/article/46102_Trumps_Antisemitic_Attack_on_Hillary_Clinton_Originated_With_White_Supremacists

Now, do I think that Trump himself  is  racist and anti-Semitic?  I don’t know.  Maybe.  I do know that his father was arrested at a KKK rally in 1927.  I do also know that Trump was unwilling to immediately denounce David Duke.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/the-fix/wp/2016/02/28/in-1927-donald-trumps-father-was-arrested-after-a-klan-riot-in-queens/

Now let’s add in his comments about Mexicans, Muslims, women, and god knows who else.  If you are not offended by him, ya might be a white Christian.  If you are not outraged that a major party presidential candidate is spewing forth this kind of hate, ya just might be a white Christian.  He hasn’t come after white Christians and of course, he won’t.  But just for one minute, put yourself in the place of any one of the minorities Trump has gone after, and ask yourself how you would feel about him then.  I am in no way saying that all white, American, Christians are racist.  I am saying that if Trump is not coming after you with his words, it’s easy to dismiss these stories because you can’t hear the dog whistle.

 

One thought on “What’s Going On?

Leave a Reply

