Running the Numbers

2016 is a fluky year for numbers in our family.  Number one son just turned 21 yesterday, number two son turns 18 in ten days and to top it off, I, along with many of my friends, turn fifty this year.

I can’t even think about 50 yet because I’m so focused on the kids right now.  I read somewhere a long time ago that having kids cements your place in time and in the world.  Before you have kids, you’re basically just responsible for yourself.  Time and the passage of it has a different meaning. Hell, there were long periods of my life where I had to look at the calendar to even know what year it was.  Then once the first child comes, you immediately start marking time.  Isn’t he cute?  He’s 3 months old.  What a pain the ass he is today, he’s 2 1/2, etc.

Well, now they’re 18 and 21 and they make me pretty darn proud.  Everyone always wants their kids to have better lives than they had.  Do better, even if it’s just a little bit.  I’m confident that will happen but here’s what I already know, they’re both better people than I was at their ages.  It’s not even close.  So here’s to you guys.  Keep making me proud.  Maybe take my advice, here and there.  Love ya both like crazy.

Leave a Reply

