Blood in the Streets

Every recent poll has shown that 80-90% of the country is in favor of the common sense gun reforms which were up for a vote yesterday in the senate.  80-90%!  And not only was no consensus reached, the only reason we even got a vote is because of Senator Murphy’s filibuster the other day.

So, senate republicans(and 2 red state dems) are voting against their constituents on this issue.  Why?  For starters, almost every one of them gets large donations from the NRA.  Follow this guy on twitter for the gruesome details:

It has to be more than that though, right?  They’re doing the political calculus and have come to the conclusion that most people are not going to vote on this single issue.  So it’s easier to fall in line with the NRA and not have to worry about being outflanked on their right in their next primary.  They’re putting their job security ahead of our nation’s security.  That’s the bottom line.

So then the question becomes, do we care enough, truly care enough, about this issue to do something about it?  I live in New York.  Both of my senators voted the right way.  If they didn’t, I would not vote for them the next time around.  This issue means that much to me.  Also, and this may seem harsh, I don’t want the blood on my hands.  I truly believe that if you are voting for and supporting congresspeople that are blocking common sense gun reforms, then you and they are both complicit in the bloodshed.  You didn’t pull the trigger but you did nothing to stop it either.

It’s sad.  It’s pathetic.  It is not surprising.
There’s blood in the streets, it’s up to my ankles
Blood in the streets, it’s up to my knee
Blood in the streets in the town of Chicago
Blood on the rise, it’s following me

 

 

6 thoughts on “Blood in the Streets

  1. Agree with Ortho. Unfortunately Government doesn’t produce to a goal, they have a goal to produce (not who said this but not my quote…but true). I think there are people who want to solve the problem but at the end of the day it’s money that makes this all go around and there are more members of congress making money off the NRA than not.

    Like

    1. Perhaps I misunderstood what Ortho was saying. He seemed to be implying that both sides have something to gain by doing nothing. I certainly see how the repubs benefit, with all of the money they get from the NRA. I do not see how the dems benefit from not solving this problem and that’s where I disagree.

      Like

Leave a Reply

