Bob Star

Well, here we are folks.  This is my 200th post.  A minor achievement, to be sure.  Still, when I started this blog, I had no preconceived notion about how long I would do it for.  If anything, I figured I would run out of things to say after ten or fifteen posts(some of you may be shaking your head and saying, “you did, fool”).  Fair enough.  Thanks for sticking around, anyway. If you like something you read, maybe send a link to someone else you know?  Help me spread the word a bit?

So, I can’t waste number 200 on crazy Trump or on pond scum terrorists.  No, number 200 has to be for something fun.  By the way, does anyone know, without googling it, what Bob Star is?  We’ll get to it in a bit.

Did you happen to catch CBS Sunday Morning and their feature on Dead & Company?  It was a really thoughtful piece with some wonderful interviews.  It’s killing me not to see the band this summer but there is no Buffalo date and I’m the only one of my friends that’s into them enough anymore to travel.  Or maybe I just have more time on my hands.

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/the-dead-rise-again-dead-company-on-tour/

Anyway, at the end, they’re interviewing Weir and Mayer, and Weir said something that gave me goosebumps.

On the road last year, Bob Weir had a dream that persuaded him the Dead’s long, strange trip has a long way to go….

“We were on stage, and suddenly I found myself, like, 20 feet behind my own head looking at myself playing. And then I look over at him (Mayer). His hair is grey and it’s 20 years later. And then I look back at myself. There’s somebody with brownish-blondish hair in his late 20s. Not me. This is the music going on [without me].”

“How did it feel?”

“It felt altogether right. You know, okay, that’s what I’ve been up to all my life.”

I mean, come on!  The idea that this music will continue, will outlive us all, that’s a dream come true.  It gives me hope.

Bob Star is a little known Grateful Dead song.  It was never on an album and was only played live three times, in the Spring of 1983.  The first time it was ever played was 4-15-83, which just so happens to be the first Grateful Dead show I ever attended.  After a slightly contentious family discussion, I skipped out on Passover dinner to go see The Dead!  If you were ever looking for a simple metaphor for my life, you just found it.

Long as we got to be
Long as we are
I just wanna be
One of them little stars

One of them little stars
That’d just be fine
All you gotta do now
Just hang up there and shine
Hang up there and shine

Hang up there and shine
Hang up there and shine
Hang up there and shine

Long live The Grateful Dead.  Here they are, 4-15-83.

https://archive.org/details/gd1983-04-15.sbd.miller.32780.sbeok.flac16

PS.  Bobby got political this week at Bonnaroo!

 

3 thoughts on “Bob Star

  1. Hope to read 200 more entries! You know what I like most about your posts, particularly when you include lyrics? I can hear your voice singing the lyrics and your head is bopping just a bit as you immerse yourself in the soul of the artist. BTW- I watched a free live streamed concert by Dead & Company during the winter months, I would pay to see them live. Some think that John Mayer leaves a lot to be desired in the personality department, but he is a tremendous guitar player and a musical genius.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

