The Last Waltz

I have a fairly long commute to and from work, about 35 minutes each way if the weather is good and there are no accidents.  I know, for someone living in a bigger city, that’s living large.  For Buffalo though, it qualifies as a long commute.  I’ve been making this drive five times per week for the past seven years.  It gets boring, especially since I no longer have satellite radio in my car.  It does give me time to think about various topics to blog about though.

The Band came on the radio(Shape I’m In), and it got me to thinking about how Levon, Rick, and Richard are all gone now.  This led me to think about all of the different musicians I’ve seen over the years that are no longer with us.  I’m a list person so, here’s a list of people that I was lucky enough to see over the years that are no longer with us, in no particular order.

Levon Helm, Rick Danko, Richard Manuel, Paul Butterfield, Jerry Garcia, Brent Mydland, Vince Welnick, Bon Scott, Phil Lynott, Brad Delp, John Stewart, Glen Frey, Benjamin Orr, Chris Squire, Randy Rhoads, Dennis Wilson, Carl Wilson,  Cory Wells, George Carlin, Jon Lord, Gary Richrath, Rick Wright, Warren Zevon, Richie Hayward, Mike Dunford, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Pete Zorn, Clarence Clemons, John Renbourn, Bert Jansch, Nicolette Larsen, Rob Buck, Tuli Kupfberg, Bruce Jay Paskow, Gatemouth Brown, Junior Wells, Popsy Dixon, Wendell Holmes, John Philips, Lou Reed.

It’s probably an incomplete list but still, that’s a lot of great musicians(and one great comedian).  Our musicians seem to be leaving us at an alarming rate lately.  Go see them while you still can.  You can sleep when you’re dead.

Leave a Reply

