Ticking Away

This is my youngest son’s last week of high school.  Yikes!  I don’t really know where those eighteen years went.  He’ll be leaving for college in about ten weeks and we’ll miss him like crazy.  You know what else I’ll miss?  This may sound weird but I’m going to miss the routine, everyday things: making his lunch on school nights, taking him to baseball practices and games, watching the Bills and Sabres with him(I love the Missus to death but the only thing she likes less than sports is talking about sports).

I’ve spent a lot of time this year thinking about, well, time.  The boys turn 18 and 21 this year and I turn, gulp, 50.  Three big numbers all in the same year.  Rather than mourn the passage of time, I choose to do what I always do, find songs that correspond with what I’m thinking about.  It’s a sickness, really…

I’m starting with the best song I know about the passing of time.  There have been many covers of this song but for me, none will ever compare to Sandy Denny and Fairport.  If you have never heard this, all I can say is you’re missing out.

Sticking with British folk rock here with Al Stewart.  This one was actually a top 10 hit.  I think Al Stewart is thought of as a two hit wonder but he made some great music beyond those two hits.  Some pretty great lyrics here.

Well I’m not the kind to live in the past
The years run too short and the days too fast
The things you lean on, are the things that don’t last
Well it’s just now and then, my line gets cast into these
Time passages

One more and it’s an obvious entry.  Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day…

 

Leave a Reply

