Swarb

I woke up to the sad news that Dave Swarbrick died today. Maybe that name doesn’t ring a bell with you but it certainly does to me.  As a member of Fairport Convention, Swarb was a key component in shaping their seminal album, Liege & Lief, in which the band single handedly created electric folk rock in England.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liege_%26_Lief

Much less important to the world, but very important to me personally, this album helped to shape my own musical tastes.  Before I heard it, I was firmly entrenched in the classic rock realm, although at the time, it was just rock.   I clearly remember picking the album up at Fantasy Records in Rochester, on one of my daylong record buying excursions with Alan L. If I hadn’t recognized Sandy Denny’s name from Zep IV, I may not have bought it(the original is still the best version of The Battle of Evermore).  I brought the album to my sister’s house, popped it on the turntable and heard this:

My music world had just expanded exponentially, as I dropped down into the rabbit hole, and found Richard Thompson, Sandy Denny, Carthy & Swarbrick, Steeleye Span, Pentangle, Jansch, Renbourn, and a whole long list of artists that I still love to this day.  So thank you, Dave Swarbrick, for helping to create such fantastic music, which will surely live on for many years to come.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

