Play, Repeat

The other day, I wrote about The Beatles and The Stones and how my tastes have changed over the years to where I much prefer The Stones.  Part of the reason for that is that I’ve heard the Beatles tunes so many times over the years.  Most of their music is just totally played out for me, which got me to thinking about songs that I can and have heard a thousand times or more but that I never tire of.

The first one that comes to mind is All Along the Watchtower.  The marriage of Dylan’s lyrics to Jimi’s music was surely a union made in heaven, metaphorically speaking(there is no heaven, don’t be ridiculous).  In fact, I’m not sure I’ve ever heard a bad version of this song.  I love the original.  Hearing the Grateful Dead tear into it in person on 7-2-87, while standing in center field at Silver Stadium, is an all-time concert highlight for me.

Speaking of Dead covers, almost thirty years ago, on 7-4-86 at Rich Stadium, they broke into Gimme Some Lovin’ towards the end of the second set.  Nothing can touch the original version with that soulful vocal from Winwood but the Dead made that song into a party for 60,000.  I never get tired of hearing it.  Bonus points for being in The Blues Brothers movie and soundtrack!

Next up is another favorite from the 60’s(I’m intentionally picking very old songs because that’s the whole point of this exercise), this one from The Zombies.  Their biggest hit is the timeless classic, Time of the Season and I love it to death and never tire of it.  However, it’s their other big hit, She’s Not There, that I love even more.  It has this jazzy rock feel to it which was way ahead of its time in 1964 and features just an amazing vocal performance from Colin Blunstone.  This is a song that I’ve been known to hit repeat on for what might be an annoying number of times to anyone in the vicinity. The song has been covered many times, most notably by Santana, who had a hit with it in 1977.  Another notable version is by Neko Case and Nick Cave, from the True Blood soundtrack.

I could go forever with this but I’ll leave it here.  What about you, my few but faithful readers?  Got a song or two that you never tire of?  Leave me a comment!

One thought on “Play, Repeat

  1. Doors, Hello. Count Five, Psychotic Reaction, Hollies, Long Cool Woman. Skynyrd, I know a Little, CSN, Suite/Judy Blue Eyes. Just a sample!

    Like

Leave a Reply

