Smokin’

We have a Mobil gas station about two blocks from our house and I stopped in there to fill up yesterday, on the way to pick my son up from college.  I went into the store to get a drink for the road and as I’m waiting in line to pay, I saw something that surprised the heck out of me.

The gas station had an entire section of merchandise that belongs in a head shop!  They had a hundred or more pipes and quite a few bongs too.  In a Mobil station!  Am I being old fashioned or is that weird?

This isn’t Colorado or Oregon we’re talking about.  This is New York state, where medicinal marijuana is just becoming legal.  I like to think that I’m more liberal and progressive thank most people I know.  I’m in favor of legalizing marijuana, even for recreational use.  It’s not legal here yet though and I have to say that this made me a little uncomfortable.

What say you?

There are so many really great songs about marijuana that it’s hard to choose just one.  I’m going with one my favorite bands, the funkified, countrified, rock n roll boogie masters, Little Feat!  This is from my favorite all-time live album, Waiting for Columbus.  I’ve seen this band three times.  They never disappoint!

 

Because that’s just not even close to being enough Little Feat for me, here’s another favorite.

One thought on “Smokin’

Leave a Reply

