What’s So Funny ‘Bout…

People who know me know that I’m very interested in politics.  I have some strong opinions and sometimes, not as much patience as maybe I should have for opposing opinions.  I think we’re all fed up with the process, aren’t we?  Congress has been gridlocked forever. Nothing ever seems to get accomplished.  Politicians seem like all they really care about is their own jobs.  The voting process is a joke, with different laws and rules in every state.  The country is in turmoil.  Many of us feel that our individual votes barely matter.  Yada yada yada…

I get all that.  I agree with most of it.  I never miss an opportunity to vote though and try to stay up on most of the political news and the current events.  Here’s one thing that I don’t understand, though.  I don’t get it at all when someone tells me that it doesn’t matter who our president is.  That somehow, it’s all the same and that our lives will be the same, regardless of who the commander in chief is.  I’m sorry, but I don’t buy that for a minute.

There are obvious, profound differences between the two major political parties and between the presidential candidates.  If you’ve read this blog at all, you know how I feel about Trump.  He’s dangerously unqualified.  If elected, he would be the first president without any prior experience in either the military or in elected office.  I absolutely do not see that as a positive.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Presidents_of_the_United_States_by_previous_experience

In spite of her shortcomings, Hillary Clinton is much more qualified for the job.  Beyond the issue of qualifications though, how anyone can think there will be little or no difference between the two is baffling to me.  They would nominate radically different people to the supreme court, for starters.  One candidate fights for women’s rights and one wants to defund Planned Parenthood.  One candidate wants to “build a wall” and one is, well, sane.  It goes on and on.  There are many more differences than there are similarities between the two candidates.  Vote for who you must but  please, don’t tell me that it doesn’t matter.

Elvis Costello made it famous but Nick Lowe wrote it and I love his version.

One thought on “What’s So Funny ‘Bout…

  1. I agree with you 100%. Whoever the President is, sets the tone for foreign policy, the direction the country heads in for the next 4 years, and sets national priorities. So whoever says it does not matter is borderline clueless. It is why I ask people when the start to complain about the state of the country and the people running it, “Did you vote?”. If you did not vote, do not bitch, not voting makes you part of the problem.
    I would like to believe if more people voted we would not need term limits and our elected officials would be more responsive to the people. Politicians have forgotten that they work for use, not the other way around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

