Trees

I let an important day slip by last week without mention.  Of course, I’m talking about Arbor Day.  Some may ask why we need a day dedicated to trees each year.  Don’t let Treebeard hear you talk that way.

“Some of my kin look just like trees now, and need something great to rouse them; and they speak only in whispers. But some of my trees are limb-lithe, and many can talk to me.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Two Towers

In all seriousness, trees are no laughing matter.  We need them to survive and they are in trouble, due to climate change, disease, and forest fires caused by drought.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/energy-environment/wp/2016/05/02/this-disease-has-killed-a-million-trees-in-california-and-scientists-say-its-basically-unstoppable/

So if you have room in your yard, maybe plant a tree this year!  Now, here are some of my favorite tree related songs.

Let’s start with the obvious one, by Rush.  It’s always been one of my favorite songs of theirs.

 

From the hard rocking Rush to the soft spoken and understated British folk of Nick Drake. Fame is but a fruit tree!

Next up is U2, from back when they still made great music.  What happened to this once great band?

That leads us into our final selection, from Tony Orando and Dawn.  Just kidding.  Here’s a great song by Iron & Wine which I think would fit right in with the best of 1970’s AM radio music though.  And I say that in only the best possible way.  I love this band.

Got a favorite tree song?  Leave me a comment!

Leave a Reply

