My Latest Ear Worm

Ever since we saw Willie Nile last week, I’ve had a new ear worm.  You know what that means?  Time for Mr. Chekov!

Seriously, Willie Nile rockin out to Sweet Jane?  It really doesn’t get much better than this for me.  If I could see the band again tonight, I’d run right out.  I bought the CD at the show and it ends with this great cover.  I’ve had it on repeat in my car ever since.  If you happen to see me driving by,chances are that  you’ll see me singing along.

I got a chance to see Lou Reed once when he played UB’s Fallfest, 9-19-86.  I don’t remember much about the show, other than standing pretty close to the stage at Baird Point.

I just love the lyrics to this song.  There’s a certain economy to them, which fits the music like a glove.

Some people, they like to go out dancing
And other peoples, they have to work. Just watch me now
And there’s even some evil mothers
Well they’re gonna tell you that everything is just dirt
Y’know that, women, never really faint
And that villains always blink their eyes, woo
And that, y’know, children are the only ones who blush
And that, life is, just to die
And, everyone who ever had a heart, oh
That wouldn’t turn around and break it
And anyone who ever played a part, whoa
And wouldn’t turn around and hate it

Sweet Jane! Whoa-oh-oh! Sweet Jane! Sweet Jane. Sweet Jane
Sweet Jane. Sweet Jane

Here’s Willie.  Seriously, give this a listen!

 

Leave a Reply

