Looking For Clues

I’ve written about this at least twice before so if you’re tired of reading it, I completely understand.  However, I just can’t get over it.  I absolutely cannot believe that this is “a thing” and that so many people are so effing stupid. Pardon my French :).

Of course, I’m speaking again about those “I know better than the rest of the world” folks. Yes, the willfully ignorant anti-vaxxers!  Can someone please explain to me why vaccinations are such a hard topic to understand?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/natalia-reagan/the-true-facts-about-vaccines-and-herd-immunity_b_9775386.html?utm_hp_ref=science&ir=Science

Here are some key facts:

According to the CDC, routine vaccines given to children in the last two decades will prevent hundreds of millions illnesses, tens of millions hospitalizations, and prevent over 700,000 deaths. And that’s just in the U.S.

You know, I don’t think it would bother me one bit if it was just these parents who were at risk. If they were the ones coming down with measles and mumps and who knows what else, I could just chalk it up to a “thinning of the herd” and go about my day.  But no, it’s their innocent children who are suffering.  And even worse, it’s people whose immune systems cannot handle being vaccinated who are being put at risk.  It’s called herd immunity.

“When a critical portion of a community is immunized against a contagious disease, most members of the community are protected against that disease because there is little opportunity for an outbreak. Even those who are not eligible for certain vaccines — such as infants, pregnant women, or immunocompromised individuals — get some protection because the spread of contagious disease is contained.”

Who are these people and why are they so freaking ignorant?  Are they anti-science people?  Religious wackos?  I don’t know who they are but they’re dangerous.  We have so many problems in the world.  Why do we have to fight with people over problems that we’ve already solved?  I’m just looking for clues…

Robert Palmer was so damn funky!

 

2 thoughts on “Looking For Clues

  1. Was talking with my parents about this. Those that forget history are doomed to repeat it. Unfortunately our parents are the last generation to remember (for the most part) kids coming to school with the crutches with the wrist holder with polio.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

