Who Knows Where the Time Goes?

This is not like me at all.  I let the thirtieth anniversary of my first Richard Thompson concert go by without a mention earlier this week.

On April 24th, 1986, Richard Thompson headlined the University at Buffalo Folk Festival in Clark Gym.  Other acts on the bill included Ramblin Jack Elliot, Lucie Blue Tremblay, and The Washington Squares(look em up, they were awesome)!

It was a solo, acoustic show and we were able to stand right up at the front of the stage while Mr. T dazzled us with his guitar and charmed us with his understated, British humor.  I was already a big fan of his by then but seeing him in person turned me into a life long fan boy.  I’ve seen RT many, many times since then and even at my, cough, slightly advanced age, will still gladly travel to see him.  He’s a musical treasure.

Here he is playing one of the all-time greatest folk songs and keeping Sandy Denny’s memory alive.

Leave a Reply

