Let the Sunshine In

For someone who loves music as much as I do, my thoughts on musicals may seem contradictory.  I admit it.  I absolutely hate musical theater.  Of course, I recognize the talent and artistry involved.  But people breaking out in song?  Ugh.  To me, it’s less realistic than The Hobbit.  What can I say?  I’ve never liked it.  Plays can be wonderful.  Musicals?  I’m outta here.

Years ago, I got stuck taking a a huge group of clients to see Phantom of the Opera in Toronto.  It was hell on earth.  A like-minded client sneaked out with me at intermission and we went in search of a bar.  Not enough alcohol in the world to put up with that nonsense.

Having said that, most rules usually have an exception, don’t they?  For me, the great exception is Hair.  I’ve never actually seen a stage production of Hair so I guess it’s possible that I would not enjoy it.  I’m basing my opinion on the movie and on the soundtrack, both of which are amazing.  Of course, the anti-Vietnam war story is right in my wheelhouse and is why I like it so much.  It’s more than that, though.  The songs and the performances in the movie are outstanding.  The tragic, ironic ending is heartbreaking(I remember that there was a viewing of the movie at my high school and all the girls there were crying at the ending.  I had already seen it and knew the story but may have had something in my eye that night too).  Treat Williams was amazing as Berger.  A quick look at the wiki page shows the cast is full of well known people. In fact, I just learned that I’ve seen one of the cast members in concert, Donnie Dacus, when he played with Chicago.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hair_(film)

I learned something else today.  The creator of Hair is not only from my hometown of Rochester but he is actually from the suburb that I grew up in, Irondequoit.  He is being inducted into the Rochester Music Hall of Fame this week.  I find it pretty funny that he is being inducted alongside Rochester native, Wendy O. Williams!

NEWS

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Let the Sunshine In

  1. As you know, I couldn’t agree with you more. To me this is on top of my favorite movies and albums of all time. I’ve seen a stage version and it didn’t quite add up to the Milos Foreman version where Berger is really the hero, not Claude. The production value of the movie soundtrack is second to none – I mean can you argue with Nell Carter’s range? What about “Easy to be hard”? I am proud to say that I cry every time at the end and sometime just what. I hear the final song imagining the cemetery scene. We’ll always have this in common, cuz!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

