Foolin

Happy April Fool’s Day, I guess.  What a silly ritual.  I wonder how it started?  According to this article, no one really knows for sure.  Maybe they’re just fooling us though.

http://www.vox.com/2016/4/1/11340608/april-fools-day-pranks-explained

Anyway, have you had enough of fake stories yet about Ted Cruz running for office in Canada or your favorite team moving out of town or Donald Trump running for President(oops, that one is real, unfortunately)?  If so, I have another distraction for you.  Here are a few of my favorite songs which are loosely related to April Fool’s Day(okay, they just use the word fool).

Let’s start off with this gem from Foghat.  Fool for the City is the title track to their 1975 hit album.  The big hit from the album was Slow Ride but I think this is actually the best Foghat song that I’m aware of.  I saw this band twice.  Both times, they were the opening act, once for Blue Oyster Cult and once for Triumph.

Next up is one of my favorite AM radio songs of the 70’s, courtesy of Elvin Bishop.  Bishop is probably best known for this song because it was such a huge hit in 1976.  However, he earned his critical success much earlier, as an original member of the Paul Butterfield Blues Band.  It don’t get much better than that, folks.  I never got to see Bishop in concert or Mickey Thomas(the vocalist who later went on to Starship).  I was lucky enough to see Paul Butterfield though , with several members of The Band, when they opened for CSN in Fall of 1985 in Rochester.

Saving the absolute best for last, here is guitar god, Richard Thompson, with For Shame of Doing Wrong and it’s simple but devastatingly powerful repeating line, I wish I was a fool for you again.  It’s not really fair that someone who can play guitar the way he can is also able to write such fantastic lyrics.  This is one of my all-time favorite songs and as such, here are several versions of it.  No foolin.

The original, featuring Linda Thompson and her amazing voice.

Here is the outtake from the scrapped Rafferty’s Folly album.  It’s much more upbeat.  This first officially appeared on the Watching the Dark boxed set.  I love it.

 

Leave a Reply

