Thank you, Sabres

We could talk about Super Tuesday but it’s painful to follow, isn’t it?  So let’s talk about something a little bit more fun today, the Sabres.  Right, because there’s nothing painful there.  I went to my first game of the season last night, courtesy of a friend with a free ticket.

This was Connor McDavid’s first trip to Buffalo with the Edmonton Oilers and it was hyped up because of the the whole McEichel thing.  Poor Jack Eichel, always having to be compared to McDavid.  First of all, I am not a fan of our new coach.  He consistently makes screwy decisions.  Hey, Edmonton put out the McDavid line to start the game(and periods 2 and 3), I know, let’s put the Larson line out against him instead of the Eichel line. That’ll show em!  22 seconds into the game, McDavid scores, as all six of our players on the ice practically fell down and and let him shoot into an empty net.

Don’t get me wrong, McDavid is phenomenal.  He’s super fast and immensely talented but we gave him two of the easiest goals he will ever score in his career last night. I know we have injuries but really, what a lackluster effort.  Maybe it was because this was their first game back from a west coast swing but I’m not big on excuses.  Hey, someone paid $155 for my center ice ticket last night, would you mind staying on your skates?

And anotha thing(Bernie voice), the atmosphere in the building is non-existent.  It was sold out but I bet you a third of the crowd was Canadians who were only there to see their boy king.  There were a lot of  Oiler jerseys there.  The poor organist should just give up because no matter how many times he tried to get the “let’s go Buffalo” chant going, no one was buying.  I mean, silence.  Dead silence.  Let’s face it, this is a beaten down fan base, tired of all of the losing, intentional and otherwise.   The Sabres have not made the playoffs in six years and haven’t won a playoff series in nine!!!

I go to 2-3 games a year.  I can’t remember the last time that I saw them win a game in person.  I’m pretty sure Briere was still on the team though.  Here’s hoping that GM Tim Murray kills it in the off season.  I’m not sure how much of this we can take.

 

Leave a Reply

