The Name Game

Regular readers of this blog will know that I’ve recently dipped my foot into the music playing waters by trying to learn how to play mandolin.  Two guitar playing friends of mine are nice enough to get together with me regularly and indulge me.  It’s very challenging and incredibly fun.  I’m always amazed by how quickly the time passes when we are playing.

In an email exchange the other day, I jokingly said that we need a name for our “band”, and put forth a few suggestions, drawing inspiration from the type of music we are playing and also a few silly ones.  Here they are:  The Fisher Kings, Remedy, Ooze(back in high school I always said if I had a band it would be called Ooze), Below the Salt, and The Upstate Downers(the consensus pick).

This fun little exercise got me to thinking about band names and which ones I think are the best and worst.  This is strictly about the name, not about the music.  I have never been a fan of band names that are just regular objects such as The Cars or The Beatles.  One possible exception to that might be The Doors(of perception), which is pretty darn cool. I also don’t like names that are just cities, states, or countries.  Sorry, Asia, Europe, America, Boston, and Chicago.   So here are a few  band names that I have always thought were particularly strong: The Grateful Dead, King Crimson, Grand Funk, Iron & Wine. The Lowest of the Low, The Tragically Hip, and Pentangle.

Do you have a favorite band name?  Let’s hear it?

One thought on “The Name Game

  1. So many to choose from: Creedence Clearwater Revival, The Bare Naked Ladies, Jimmy Buffet & the Coral Reefers, Ten Years After, Pink Floyd (“by the way, which one’s Pink?”), and of course Country Joe & the Fish (inspiration for Fishin’ Jim & the Nightcrawlers!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

