Fish Story

There are some things that I can’t imagine happening anywhere else but Buffalo.  For instance, every year during Lent, we are graced with fish fry maps from our local media outlets.  I’m not catholic but I’d sure like to thank them for influencing this culinary delight.  If you’re from another part of the world, you’re probably thinking, “what’s the big deal about fried fish?”. This ain’t no Filet-O-Fish people.  Here’s what you need to know:

A history of the Buffalo fish fry

We take our fish fries very seriously in Buffalo, folks.

The history of the Buffalo fish fry

The one thing this article got wrong has to do with Rochester.  Having grown up there, I can tell you that the fish fry is just as ubiquitous there as it is here in the Buff.

I would be very surprised though, if any other town in the country goes as far as we do in our love of the fish fry.  Our newspaper prints an annual fish fry guide!  Now that’s love.

Gusto’s annual community Fish Fry Guide

I have little to no use for modern “bro” country music.  This band, however, rises way above most others, in my opinion.  You get a line, I’ll get a pole…

One more song that’s a little more on point.  I’m not sure why they did fish fries on Saturday night in New Orleans instead of on Fridays.

Leave a Reply

