Debating the Sabres

Two family members checked in with me last night to talk about the debate.  Um, sorry. I’m watching the Sabres play the Bruins.  As much as I’m interested in politics, I’d much rather watch a good hockey game with my son than a political debate.  My Sabres lost in a shootout but they played the Bruins hard and looked pretty good.  Johnson let up a bad goal but you can’t pin the loss solely on him.  They simply need more scoring.  It’s tough to win many games when you score two goals or less per game, unless you bring Hasek back.

The game ended around ten and then we switched over to the debate.  The first thing that struck me was how much more reasonable Sanders and Clinton sound in comparison to the republican candidates.  They’re adults and they sound like it.  I absolutely loved Bernie’s response to the death penalty question.  It mirrors my feelings on the subject to the tee. I realize I’m in the minority position on this but I don’t care.  The death penalty is barbaric and has no place in a civilized, modern society.  Here’s what he said:

“Of course there are barbaric acts out there, but in a world of so much violence and killing, I just don’t believe that government itself should be part of the killing,” Sanders said. He said when someone commits murder, they should be locked away for life. But, Sanders said, “I just don’t want to see government be part of killing.”

Sanders’ lack of foreign policy experience definitely showed.  It’s surprising that he hasn’t fleshed it out better by now.  Hillary, on the other hand, is perfectly polished.  She has more and better experience than anyone else running.  If it wasn’t for her Iraq vote, I’d go door to door for her.  I’ll still vote for her if she gets the nomination but not with much enthusiasm and mostly because the other side is a tire fire.

Go Sabres!  And sign McGinn!  Oh, and for the love of god, start working on your shootouts and, I don’t know, maybe put Eichel in?

Is there a better hockey related song than this?  If there is, I haven’t heard it.

 

Leave a Reply

