Tull

Every once in awhile, a friend or acquaintance from my past will pop up and get back in touch with me.  Now that we’re in the social media age, it’s so easy to look someone up and say hello.  In fact, I remember that when I first signed up for a facebook account, I received a friend request within five minutes from one of my best friends in college that I had lost touch with. We’ve kept in touch ever since.  Social media can be aggravating at times but it also has its charms.

This post is really about something else though.  It’s about the impressions that we make on people without ever realizing it.  If a friend or acquaintance  that you have not seen for ten or twenty years thought about you, what would come to mind?  Apparently, my love for all things Tull is one of the first things that people remember about me.

I find this to be pretty funny.  I’ve had so many musical obsessions over the years: The Grateful Dead, Richard Thompson, The Neville Brothers, King Crimson, The Moody Blues, Iron & Wine, and most definitely, Jethro Tull.  Why is it that Tull stands out in people’s minds?  It’s probably because, among my various groups of friends over the years, I was one of the only people who dug them.

Even though they have sold over 60 million records worldwide, I think Tull has been criminally overlooked by many.  It’s hard to believe now but when they first started out, Tull was a pretty hip, underground band.  You know how it goes though, a band gets popular for awhile and then eventually, tastes change and they are no longer cool.  It’s often said that the punk revolution killed the prog bands.  That’s a lazy way of examining what happened.  Popular tastes did change but most of the prog bands didn’t just roll over and die.  Tull soldiered on and played to big crowds all through the 80′ and 90’s.  Rock radio in the States let them and most bands from their generation down by refusing to play their new releases.  Classic rock radio effectively killed off the careers of most of the artists they played, at least as far as album sales go.

Tull were so much more than Aqualung.  They were world music before the term was even invented.  At various points, they  were blues, folk, prog, and hard rock, sometimes all on the same album.  And they were damn funny on stage while maintaining a very high level of musicianship.  Anyway, if Tull comes to mind when you think about me, I’m good with that!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

