Heroes

Much of the world is in shock today.  I would guess that hundreds of thousands of words have been written about David Bowie over the last forty years and I would wager that there is still much to be written about him in the future.  He was an icon but more than that. He never stood still.  He never relied on his glory years.  Always changing, forever evolving. Loved by many different types of music fans.  His music crossed boundaries and defied preconceived notions about him.  His personal life mirrored that.

Someone said on twitter today that David Bowie was outside of time and that it felt like he’d always be here.    I like that.  I’ve always felt that way about some of my favorite music.

I’m not Bowie’s biggest fan.  I didn’t travel around to see him or god forbid, try to dress like him.  I have always loved his music though and appreciated his artistic integrity.  It occurred to me today that there aren’t that many individuals in the history of music who have had a larger impact on world culture.  I do mean world culture too.  Bowie was loved all over the world.  Who has had a larger cultural impact than him?  Elvis?  Lennon and McCartney?  Marley? Maybe a few others.

He left us way too early.  The next time I have a drink in my hand, it will be to toast Ziggy, Aladdin Sane, The Thin White Duke, The Starman, David Robert Jones.

What song to post?  There are so many meaningful songs to choose from.  In the end, I have to go with Heroes, with that ridiculously tasty guitar from Robert Fripp.  Here’s Fripp talking about getting the call. We can be Heroes, just for one day.

2 thoughts on “Heroes

  1. Saw him in 1991 or 92 at Niagara Convention Center with Adrian Belew on guitar. It was there that I learned the difference between a concert and a show.
    How cool was his performance at the 9/11 benefit. A lot of impact with him just sitting on the stage with a little keyboard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

