Boss

Okay, here’s a random thought for today.  You can file this one under Andy Rooney or perhaps call it a Larry King like non-sequitur.

I don’t really like being called “boss” by people.  I’m not sure why but it rubs me the wrong way.  I was at the toll booth last night and the guy said, “here you go, boss” while handing me the ticket.  It’s a harmless little word but for some reason, I don’t care for it.  I think that, for starters, I was already a little annoyed that New York state feels the need to pay people to hand out toll tickets when a machine can do it for much less money to the taxpayer.  Hell, we could put a trained monkey out there to hand out tickets and pay him only in bananas.  I digress.

About a year ago, I spent an evening with an old friend from college that I hadn’t seen for a few years.  We were pretty close friends way back when and have managed to stay in touch a little bit over the years.  Throughout the evening, he kept referring to me as “boss” and it really struck me as strange.  How’s it going, “boss”? Hey “boss”, want another beer?  And so on.  Now, I know he didn’t mean anything by it and I know that it’s no big deal.  It’s just a weird thing to call your friend.  It’s impersonal, for sure.  Is it maybe a little condescending too?  I don’t know.  I probably won’t dwell on it much further but every time someone calls me boss, I think back to that night last year and go, hmmm.

Now, here’s a great tune(one of my absolute favorites) from, wait for it, The Boss.

 

Leave a Reply

