Rock n Roll Christmas

I’m not a huge fan of Christmas music, in general.  There are some really great Christmas rock songs out there though.  Here are a few of my favorites.

Gotta love the rough and tumble sentiment expressed by Ray Davies.  I saw that he just reunited with his brother last week for the first time in twenty years.  Could there be a full scale Kinks reunion in the works?  Here’s hoping!

Did you ever see the faces of children
They get so excited.
Waking up on christmas morning
Hours before the winter sun’s ignited.

That’s a fantastic lyric from one of my favorite songs off of Tommy.

Here’s a cool version of the Greg Lake classic, with Ian Anderson helping out on flute.  These great lyrics were written by Pete Sinfield, post Crim but before he wrote that crap for Starship.  This song always gives this non-believer the chills.  Love it.

Speaking of Ian Anderson, here he is again, reminding us that the Christmas spirit is…not what you drink. Is that a mandolin, Ian?  Hey, Santa, pass us that bottle, will you?

I can’t put together a list like this without including Darlene Love.  Here she is from 1986 on Letterman.  I’m quite certain that our Mighty Night Owl Club watched this together in our dorm room.  I miss Dave!

There are a few other classics that I’m leaving out(maybe next year).  I’m going to end it with my all-time favorite, the wonderful Patty Donahue and The Waitresses.  This was just a throw away song of theirs that became their biggest hit.  I love the lyrics.  I absolutely loved Patty in 1981.  Yes, Patty, you definitely knew what boys liked.  Merry X-Mar!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

