I Don’t Want to Live Like a Refugee

 

Spoiler alert.  If you are easily offended, best not to read what I’m about to write.

Still here?  Okay, it’s on you then 🙂

Among the many issues swirling around in the aftermath of the Paris attacks is what will become of the Syrian refugees.  I’ve seen a lot of hate out there for Muslims in general and for these poor Syrian refugees in particular.  It’s unwarranted. I’m just going to call it like I see it.  It’s racism, driven by fear.

I absolutely recognize that there are security concerns.  Guess who else recognizes that.  The federal government!  The vetting process is actually quite vigorous.  Before we condemn the refugees, let’s all take a breath and get our facts straight before we jump to conclusions.  Here is the vetting process:

http://www.cnn.com/2015/11/16/politics/syrian-refugees-u-s-applicants-explainer/index.html

 

So, it’s a 12-18 month process for your average refugee but even longer for those from Syria, due to security concerns.  This article does acknowledge that are sometime gaps in information.  I get it.  We need to be cautious.  We also need to be human, with a bit of compassion.  Let’s also take a moment to acknowledge that all of the known attackers in Paris were European nationals.  That should figure into the equation, shouldn’t it? Also, according to The Economist, 750,000 refugees have resettled in America since 9/11 and not one of them has been arrested on domestic terrorism charges.

Look, I won’t take a backseat to anyone in my condemnation of and hatred for these insane, fundamentalist wack jobs.  As I previously wrote , I hope we’re able to hunt down and kill every last one of them.  I don’t say that lightly.  I have almost never spoken like that before about anyone.

But we need to conquer our own fears and rise above the racism and hatred of people who have done nothing to us.  I read that a Muslim family’s house was shot at today in Florida.  Stand down, people!  That family in Florida is just trying to go about their everyday lives.  They’re not terrorists.

Not one Republican candidate has had the balls and the human decency to stand up for these refugees.  Two months ago, Kasich said he agreed with Obama regarding the refugees.  He has now backed away from that position.  Coward!

Other than native Americans, we’re all immigrants, correct?  Some of our families have been here longer than others.  Perhaps, since my mother came here from France in 1949, this hits home for me more than for some.  Check out this article that my cousin just sent me.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2015/11/17/what-americans-thought-of-jewish-refugees-on-the-eve-of-world-war-ii/?tid=sm_fb

So much has changed since 1939.  Sadly, from my perspective, we still have a long way to go.

In college, I read about Hemingway and how he considered himself a citizen of the world.  Although I have not yet had the opportunity to travel much, I think of myself in much the same way.  I’m very happy that I was born in the USA but I don’t think we’re better than the people in most other places.

 

Leave a Reply

