Older Than Dirt

Another birthday is approaching.  I’m not one to complain about birthdays because the alternative doesn’t seem like much fun.  Still, I could do without the constant reminders of my advancing age.

The latest reminder came inadvertently, courtesy of my 17 year old, who has been dating his first girlfriend for the past three months.  He has successfully avoided introducing her to me, preferring instead to spend his time at her house.  He hadn’t seen her Friday or Saturday so Saturday night, he says, “big guy(yes, that’s what he calls me), how do you feel about taking me out to Boston tomorrow?”

It has occurred to me lately that at this time next year, he will be away at school, along with his brother, and we’ll be empty nesters.  With that in mind, I decided to be a little selfish.  I said no, why don’t you invite her to come over to our house this time?  He hemmed and hawed and, when it became clear that I wasn’t going to give in, invited her over.

It was perfectly fine and she seems like a nice girl.  They went off on their own for a bit and then came back and watched football with me.  Sitting there in the living room watching football, with my youngest child and his girlfriend snuggling on the couch across from me was surreal!  I’ve never felt older than I did yesterday afternoon.

One thought on “Older Than Dirt

Leave a Reply

