November 5th

November 5th is a pretty great day in my own personal, music history.  On this day in 1982, I saw Crosby, Stills, & Nash at the Rochester War Memorial and on this day in 1993 I saw the Jerry Garcia Band in Buffalo.

CSN were touring behind their big comeback album, Daylight Again, which was a huge hit for them.  Southern Cross and Wasted on the Way were both played non-stop on local rock radio and on MTV.  For reasons I don’t remember, no one I knew was that interested in going with me, so the day that tickets went on sale, I did what I usually did.  I camped out for a ticket and scored a second row, floor seat.  I was psyched!

It was a Friday night show.  I talked C & G into going with me at the last minute but the show was already sold out, so G and I worked the front of the War Memorial, looking for a scalper.  I found a guy but he had drawn a crowd of potential buyers who had circled all around him.  I’ll never forget this.  The guy named his price and G loudly said, SOLD, before anyone else could respond, and snatched the tickets out of the guy’s hand and gave him the money.  It was brilliant.

The band’s performance was beyond brilliant.  They had a hit album on their hands and truly seemed to be enjoying each other’s company.  The crowd was into it and was hungry to hear this music.  Remember, this was their first album and tour together since 1977.  In fact, the crowd was so rowdy that I remember Crosby trying to settle everyone down at one point.  He said, “okay, this is a quiet one now.  everyone settle down so you can hear it”.  Then they launched into Daylight Again, which in turn segued into Find the Cost of Freedom. There were so many highlights and “goose bump” moments. Carry On, Chicago, Lee Shore, Southern Cross, Just a Song Before I Go, Long Time Gone, Suite:Judy Blue Eyes, For What it’s Worth, we knew every song they played.  Up to that point, this was my favorite concert.  There is not much video footage of this tour so we’ll go with this one from ’74 instead:

But wait, there’s more.  On this day in 1993, The Jerry Garcia Band rambled into the Buffalo Aud. By that point, I had seen the Grateful Dead many times.  This would prove to be the only time that I ever saw the JGB though and they had a completely different vibe than the Dead did. What I mostly remember about this show was that the security people sucked and would not allow anyone to dance in the aisles.  This music was made for dancing.  Miraculously, there is video footage of me dancing at this show:

The set list was pretty damn cool and thanks to the internet, here it is:

  1. Cats Under The Stars
  2. Mission In The Rain
  3. Simple Twist Of Fate
  4. That’s What Love Will Make You Do
  5. Ain’t No Bread In The Breadbox
  6. Like A Road
  7. Deal

SET 2

  1. Shining Star
  2. The Maker
  3. Think
  4. Reuben And Cherise
  5. Gomorrah
  6. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  7. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)

Here is video of the band doing the fabulous Daniel Lanois song, The Maker, a few nights later.

But wait, there’s more!  Tonight at Babeville, the November 5th concert tradition continues as the lovely Mrs. and I are going to see The Dave Rawlings Machine and we are psyched!  On 11-6-03(so close!), I saw Gillian Welch and David Rawlings at the Tralf and they blew me away.  I knew who Gillian Welch was but was not that familiar with her at the time.  I remember sending my cousin Jackie an email the day of the show and asking her if I should go.  Jackie strongly encouraged me to go and she was so right. I’ve been a fan ever since. In fact, when the Mrs. and I first started dating, she had a particularly stressful job and I sent her Gillian Welch songs to make her happy at work.  So we’re both fans!   Stay tuned for a review of tonight’s show.Here is a clip of Rawlings and Welch with the mighty John Paul Jones:

Leave a Reply

