Season of the Witch

I always loved Halloween as a kid.  Everything about it was fun: carving pumpkins and baking the seeds, dressing up and going trick or treating, eating as much candy as possible and drinking apple cider.  There were parties at school and it was fun to pretend to be someone or something that I wasn’t.

Halloween was something altogether different in college, of course.  From what I can remember, the Halloween parties in college were usually the best of the year and definitely the best time to meet girls.  It’s not lost on me that being someone else for a night made it easier to meet girls in college 🙂  Here’s a funny picture of me, dressed up in my Halloween best, circa, 1987.  Can anyone name who I’m dressed up as?  If you’re not sure which one is me, look for the Grateful Dead pin(I still have that).

Another thing I’ve always loved about Halloween is all of the songs about witches, werewolves and the like.  So in honor of my second favorite holiday of the year, here is a partial list of my favorite Halloween related songs, ending with my favorite:

Werewolves of London, Rhiannon, I Put a Spell on You, Don’t Fear the Reaper, Strange Magic, Tam Lin, Careful with that ax, Eugene, Sympathy for the Devil, Welcome to My Nightmare, Witches Promise, all of Rocky Horror, Legend of Wooly Swamp, Excitable Boy, Psycho Killer, Bat Out of Hell, Battle of Evermore, Evil Woman, Devil Woman, Ghost Riders in the Sky, Number of the Beast, The Killing Moon, People are Strange, and so many more.  My stone cold favorite Halloween themed song is Season of the Witch though.  I’ve never heard a bad version.  Richard Thompson kills it.  Bloomfield, Kooper, and Stills have a fantastic version from Super Sessions.  For my money though, the original by Donovan can’t be beat.  I hope everyone has fun tomorrow night pretending to be someone or something different.

Leave a Reply

