Quirks

The world is full of eccentric people, each with their own quirky way of looking at things.  It makes life interesting, right?

I thought I’d move away from politics and write about some of the weird stuff that happens in our house.  For instance, my wife has a favorite fork.  For the life of me, I can’t tell what specific characteristics this fork has that all of our other forks do not possess.  Oh, she’s told me at least a few times but really, it’s a fork and my eyes glaze over and I start thinking about almost anything else when she talks about her fork.  It’s a running gag in our house that she likes to pick out her own fork for dinner.  She’s weird and I think it’s funny.

If she’s weird(and she is), I’m pretty sure that I have her beat by a mile.  Yes, I think it’s time that I finally come clean and talk about our dishwasher.  Specifically, the loading of it.  If it’s not loaded in the “right way”, I take everything out and reload it.  It’s a pet peeve of mine if the dishwasher is loaded in a way that does not maximize the amount of dishes and glasses it can hold.  Do I have a touch of OCD?  Yeah, probably.  I prefer to think of it as not wanting to be wasteful and getting the most cleaning potential out of each wash.  So, two to three times a week when I get home from work, I see that it’s not loaded to my satisfaction and I rearrange the whole damn thing.  I mean really, who puts glasses on the bottom rack instead of the top?  Apparently, everyone in my house other than me.  Oh, and I should mention that while the dishes are back out on the counter, I rinse food off of half of them because I know the dishwasher will not get the job done otherwise and I can’t stand the idea of having to put the same dish through two washes.

So there it is, my secret is out.  Do you have any fun little pet peeves that you’d like to share?  Leave a comment.  I’d love to read it.

Now, here’s a great song about doing laundry (I couldn’t think of one about dish washing).

5 thoughts on “Quirks

  1. Excuse me but let me introduce myself. I am mojobuffalo’s sister. I don’t know where to begin. OCD huh? He must have caught it (can you catch OCD like a cold?!) from my husband, the real OCDer of the family. He has all these rules that I pretty much have ignored over the years. One has to ignore them as there are so many of them. I’m sure my brother would have to admit his organizing the dishwasher is small potatoes compared to the real thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

